ESD No. 2

Comal County Emergency Services District No. 2

An Emergency Services District (ESD) is a local government agency created by a vote of the public to provide fire protection and/or emergency medical services (EMS) in specific areas in unincorporated Comal County. There are more than 318 ESDs in Texas, 7 of which are in Comal County. The governing statute for an ESD is Chapter 775 of the Texas Health and Safety Code. An ESD collects taxes based on appraisals of real and personal property.

Comal County Emergency Services District No. 2 (CCESD No. 2) was formed through a local referendum election as a political subdivision of the State of Texas under the Health and Safety Code Chapter 776 in 1992 for the provision of Emergency Medical Services in the CLVEMS service area. The creation of CCESD No. 2 allowed for the collection of ad valorem property taxes at a rate not to exceed $0.02 per $100 property evaluation in order to support Emergency Medical Services efforts within the service area.

Current Property Tax Rate .0767¢ per $100 Valuation – Owner of a $200,000 home pays $154 a year for Emergency Medical Services – approximately $12.78 per month.


ESD No. 2 Commissioners:

Tom Crossan, President2021-22
Francesca Hays, Vice President2022-23
Archie Dishman, Treasurer2022-23
Kenneth Schein, Asst. Treasurer2021-22
Jim Whitcomb, Secretary2022-23

ESD No. 2 Commissioners:

Jim Whitcomb, President


Ken Schein, Vice President


Archie Dishman, Treasurer


Tom Crossan, Asst. Treasurer/Secretary


Michael Hayes, Commissioner


Full Map:    JPG   |   PDF

In case of an emergency call 911

Contact Us

ESD No. 2
PO Box 2140
Canyon Lake, TX 78133

Next meeting

ESD No. 2 (EMS) Next Meeting(s)

Regular Monthly Meeting

Thursday, January 19th @ 4:30PM

@ Canyon Lake Fire/EMS Station 51, 1074 Scissortail, Canyon Lake, TX 78133






Agendas and Public Notices

Our Emergency Service District agendas and public notices are listed below to help keep you informed.